50 Years in Space
HomeRegistrationProgramTravel & Accomodations  
Jonathan I. Lunine
Professor of Planetary Sciences and Physics, University of Arizona

>> Speakers Gallery

image Jonathan Lunine is Professor of Planetary Sciences and Physics and a Galileo Circle Faculty Fellow at the University of Arizona, Tucson. He is the David Baltimore Distinguished Visiting Scientist at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory, where he serves on the Director's Council.
Lunine's research interests center broadly on the formation and evolution of planets and planetary systems, the nature of organics in the outer solar system, and the processes that lead to the formation of habitable worlds. He is an interdisciplinary scientist on the Cassini mission to Saturn, and on the James Webb Space Telescope, as well as co-investigator on the Juno mission under development for launch to Jupiter. He chairs the ExoPlanet Task force of the Astronomy and Astrophysics Advisory Committee chartered by NASA and the NSF. Dr. Lunine is the author of over 180 scientific papers and of the books Earth: Evolution of a Habitable World (Cambridge University Press, 1999), and Astrobiology: A Multidisciplinary Approach (Pearson Addison-Wesley, 2005).

He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and of the American Geophysical Union, which awarded him the James B. Macelwane medal. Other awards include the Harold C. Urey Prize (American Astronomical Society) and Ya. B. Zeldovich Award of COSPAR's Commission B. He earned a B.S. in Physics and Astronomy from the University of Rochester in 1980, followed by M.S. (1983) and Ph.D. (1985) degrees in Planetary Science from the California Institute of Technology.

go to top

© Caltech. All rights reserved.   last update: July 27, 2007

Graduate Aeronautical Laboratories
California Institute of Technology
Northrop Grumman Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Conference Chairs

Jean-Lou Chameau
President, California Institute of Technology
Alexis Livanos
President, Northrop Grumman Space Technology
Charles Elachi
Director, NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Conference Organizers
Ares Rosakis
Director GALCIT, California Institute of Technology
Dwight Streit
Vice President, Foundation Technologies Northrop Grumman Space Technology


  50 Years in Space


50 Years in Space 50 Years in Space